Ole Lenku , Waiguru, and Ahmed face off in Council of Governors chair race

By Obegi Malack


Azimio la Umoja and Kenya Kwanza Alliance have locked horns over control of Council of Governors (CoG) leadership.

All the 47 governors and their deputies have started a three-day induction which starts today in Mombasa, they will elect the CoG officials on Saturday.

Three governors Anne Waiguru (Kirinyaga), Joseph Ole Lenku (Kajiado) and Abdullahi Ahmed (Wajir) have expressed interest for the CoG chairperson position.

Kenya Kwanza and Azimio la Umoja have equal numerical strength in CoG with 23 governors each.

Two governors were elected as independent governors. Taita-Taveta’s Andrew Mwadime has not declared which side he will support while Meru’s Kawira Mwangaza has already aligned herself with Kenya Kwanza.

KKA has settled on Waiguru as its candidate. It seeks to control the COG after taking over senate and national assembly.

Waiguru served as the council’s vice-chairperson and was Devolution Cabinet secretary.

Both Lenku and Ahmed are from ODM Party, they said the election will not be about political partisanship and the management has no place for party politics.

The Wajir Governor served as chair of the finance committee of the council when he was a governor chief between 2013 and 17.

“Any of the 47 governors can lead the council. Political party positions have no place in choosing the CoG leader,” said Ahmed

Lenku’s supporters say it is time for a pastoralist to take over since majority of the chairpersons are from agricultural zones.

The governor was Cabinet Secretary for Interior and Coordination of National Government from 2013 to 2014 and is banking in his experience as governor and former CS.

Other positions that will be filled are the council whip and chairpersons of 18 various committees.

In the past CoG used to pick its chair and deputy through consensus.

Chairperson and vice-chairperson shall serve for a term of one year and shall be eligible for re-election for one further term.

In the August 9 General Election, 11 governors were re-elected, 28 new governors were elected, eight pioneer ones recaptured their seats after losing them in the 2017 General Election.

Share on social media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *