Katoo, Seki and Sankaire emerge victorious in UDA nominations

By Obegi Malack


Kajiado South MP Katoo ole Metito has won UDA Party gubernatorial ticket after beating three aspirants in UDA Party primaries.

Katoo garnered 72,679 votes, MP Peris Tobiko took second position with 26,002 votes, former NTSA director Francis Meja garnered 13,097 votes, while Dr Racheal Macharia Gitonga had 832 votes.

Tobiko and Meja have disputed the results claiming the exercise was not free and fair

“I want to thank my supporters for conducting themselves in an honest manner and attempting to carry out their civic duty despite the road blocks that were set to dissuade us. I believe that when you lead with integrity & honesty, you will always win. My opponent chose to steal rather than face me in a free and fair process and that already says enough,” Tobiko said. She demanded the party to repeat the exercise and that she has evidence to present to the party tribunal.

Samwel Kanarr Seki won UDA Party nominations for Senator

Meja said the results were allegedly manipulated to suit one candidate.

“The UDA primaries are over and you all have seen the outcome. The exercise cannot qualify to be free, fair, credible and verifiable nominations. Everyone has seen the malpractices that occurred before and during the exercise.

The candidates said they are in consultation on the next appropriate cause of action and will inform their supporters.

Dr Gitonga accepted the defeat and said the process was free and fair, she said she will support the winner.

In senatorial race Samuel Kanar Seki received 44,670 votes, Daniel Tinaai (36,324) and incumbent Senator Philip Mpaayei (14,085).

Leah Sankaire won UDA nominations for Women Representative

In the Women Representative race Leah Sankaire got 41,566 votes. She defeated incumbent, Janet Teyiaa, who got 39,212 votes. Juliana Katimua garnered 13,244 votes while Racheal Leyian got 9,542 votes. 

Teiyaa disputed the results and said she won in every constituency, she said Sankaire was fronted by party officials and certain politicians.

In MP Positions Kajiado North MP aspirant Onesmus Ngogoyo won the ticket by garnering 6,525 with his competitor Andrew Nyagwansa getting 1,179 votes. The opponent has disputed the results claiming he was rigged out.

In Kajiado West constituency Sunkuyia George 24, 844 votes against his competitor Isaac Salaat who garnered 4,378 votes.

In Kajiado South Mwalimu Samuel Kutata was nominated as UDA party candidate.

In Kajiado East Constituency Mary Seneta was given a direct ticket and Anthony Kirokeni received ticket for Kajiado Central.

Share on social media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *