Former Kajiado East MP Peris Tobiko among Senate nominees

By Our Reporter

Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has nominated former Kajiado East MP Peris Tobiko to join senate.

Tobiko who is the first woman to be elected MP in Maasai land vied for gubernatorial position in UDA Party but lost to Katoo ole Metito, she has been MP for two terms.

ODM party nominated Betty Batuli Montet for senate position she is from Kajiado North ,Oloolua Ward. She is a former chief of staff Royal Media.

The IEBC has listed 32 politicians to join the 13th Parliament to represent special interest groups. Those is the list are 16 women have been nominated to the Senate while 12 mix-gender individuals got a chance in the National Assembly.

Two members each have been nominated to represent the youth and persons with disability in the Senate.

Some of those who were nominated are seven MPs include Ms Chege (Jubilee), Mr Mbadi (ODM),  Soipan Tuya (UDA) and Joyce Korir (UDA) .

Others are former Uasin Gishu senator Prof Margaret Kamar (Jubilee) and former Lamu Woman Rep and Wiper Party Secretary General Shakila Abdalla (Wiper).

Each candidate reflects the appropriate number of qualified candidates and alternates between male and female, save for the women candidates under Article 98 (1) (b) of the Constitution, in priority in which they were listed.

“The seats referred to in the schedules have been allocated in proportion to the total number of seats won by the candidates of the political party at the general election held on the 9th August, 2022,” IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati said in the gazette notice dated September 7, 2022.

Share on social media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *