Kajiado gubernatorial debate to be held on June 25

By Obegi Malack


Kajiado County gubernatorial debate will be held on June 25th in Africa Nazarene University from 7PM to 10PM.

A technical working group gazetted by Cabinet Secretary ICT CS Joe Mucheru held a meeting with a section of journalists from Kajiado County to organize the debate.

Those who met with the journalists are Jonah Ngari, a veteran journalist from KBC, Simaloi Dajom, a media consultant, Samara Sandra from the Communication Authority and Media Council official Jacob Nyongesa.

Five journalists were picked for the training, two will be selected to moderate the debate. Local journalist will be selected to moderate as a way of nurturing upcoming talents. Attendees will be invitees only.

The debate will be in Kiswahili and Maasai language, this was selected to ensure the indigenous are involved.

Organizations were invited to market their products during the debate, which will be aired live on social media platforms, local radio stations and on national TVs. Attendees will be on invite only.

All the four gubernatorial candidates have been invited, the four are incumbent Joseph ole Lenku, former governor Dr David Nkedianye, Kajiado South MP Katoo ole Metito and businessman Peter Kago Nganga.

Those who were gazetted by the CS to plan the debates countrywide are Journalist for Human Rights program manager Sammy Muraya who will be the chairperson, others are Kenya Manufacturers Association Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Phylis Wakiaga who will be the vice chairperson, Radio Citizen presenter Vincent Ateya and NTV news anchor Martin Maasai.

The Media Council of Kenya led by CEO David Omwoyo will act as the secretariat of the elections debates coordinator.

The 14 members were assigned to carry out assessment on the ability of community and local language media to carry out gubernatorial, senatorial and women representatives debates ahead of the 2022 general elections.

Share on social media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *